Which Of These 3 Was The Most Entertaining Match In Finals?

TATA IPL 2024: The 2024 season of the Indian Premier League starts from today. The 1st match will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bengaluru. Just before the opening encounter begins, we have listed down the three epic finals of this cash-rich league tournament in today’s segment. Comment which is your favourite one amongst these.
TATA IPL 2024 Begins From Tonight.
TATA IPL 2024 Begins From Tonight.

TATA IPL 2024: From 2008 till now, the IPL – Indian Premier League has been a pure class of entertainment. This cash-rich league tournament is the most established league in the cricketing world. This is mostly because the format which the league is played in.

In the T20 format the viewers experience the thrill and excitement on every ball which is bowled. There is no time to relax in the shortest format because the game is fast-paced and it can be changed in one second.

In the Indian Premier League matches too, there are many games which have been one-sided affairs and many games have gone till the last ball of the last over.

The final matches of any tournament is a thrilling one and in IPL, the finals are mostly the nail-batting ones. From 2008 to the last season of 2023, we have list the three best finals of this cash-rich league tournament.

Before the TATA IPL 2024 starts, let us go through them one by one and the readers of this post can comment their views as well.

1. RR Vs CSK: 2008 IPL Final

RR Vs CSK Image Source - BCCI

This was the first season of this cash-rich league tournament. This season of 2008 started in a great fashion and ended thrillingly. The two best teams of that season met once again in the final. This contest was between Dhoni’s CSK team versus Shane Warne’s RR. This final match was played in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

CSK batted first in that match and the men in yellow team scored 163 runs with the help of Suresh Raina’s 43 runs and Parthiv Patel’s 38 runs. In reply, the double R’s were in trouble early on.

They lost 3 wickets with just 42 runs on the board. It was the partnership between Shane Watson and Yusuf Pathan which brought the innings on track for Rajasthan.

But Chennai was back in the game once Watson was out for 28 runs. Yusuf continued to take chances, he shared another small stand with Mohammed Kaif.

Things went on nicely for RR because they lost their way in between after Kaif was out on just 12 runs and in the next over Ravindra Jadeja was also dismissed.

Yusuf Pathan who played so well was run out. Pathan was out for well-made 56 runs. The wicket of Pathan had brought the Chennai Super Kings back in the game.

Shane Warne and Sohail Tanvir were the two batters who were out in the middle when RR needed just 8 runs from the final over.

From CSK, Balaji was the one who bowled the final over of this final match. The 1st ball went for only 1 run while the second delivery was a dot ball. On the third delivery, Warne took a single.

When RR needed 6 runs from the last three deliveries, Balaji bowled a wide ball and RR took 2 runs as well. From last three balls, RR easily took the remaining runs with ones and twos. In this way, RR becomes the first champions of the IPL.

2. MI Vs RPS: 2017 IPL Final

Sharma Vs Smith In IPL 2017 Finals.
Sharma Vs Smith In IPL 2017 Finals.

The final of the IPL 2017 season was played between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiant. MI batted first in this match and they scored a small total of 129/8 in 20 overs with the help of 47 runs from Krunal Pandya. In response, the RPS team struggled at the start.

But the pair of Ajinkya Rahane and Steven Smith formed an 81-run stand which brought the lost momentum for the RPS team.

Later, the match changed towards MI after Rahane was dismissed for 44 runs and MS Dhoni was out after he scored just 10 runs.

Pune needed 13 runs in the final over in the match and Smith played a fine knock of 51 runs. Mitchell Johnson came to bowl the last over from Mumbai and Smith smashed a boundary on the first ball. But Manoj Tiwari was run out on the second ball which again tiled the match in MI’s favour.

On the third ball of the over, Johnson changed the course of the match when Smith was out. RPS still required 7 runs to win from the last 3 balls.

They got a single run by on the fourth ball. While 2 runs came on the fifth ball and Johnson took the wicket on the final ball to make Mumbai the champion for the third time. Mumbai won this match by 1 run.

3. CSK Vs MI: IPL 2019 Finals

Both Rohit And MSD Will Not Captain Their Teams In TATA IPL 2024.
Both Rohit And MSD Will Not Captain Their Teams In TATA IPL 2024. Image Credit: Twitter/@IPL

The final of IPL 2019 was between the two old folks of this cash-rich league tournament, Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings. In this match, Mumbai batted first and scored 149/8 in 20 overs with the help of 41 runs from Kieron Pollard.

In response, Chennai opener Faf du Plessis gave a strong start he scored 23 runs off just 13 balls. But the wickets fell at the other end. CSK's opener Shane Watson stood at one end and completed his half-century.

The thrill of the match came when Chennai needed 9 runs to win. Watson was unbeaten on 76 runs at the crease. Mumbai gave the responsibility of the last over to their most experienced bowler Lasith Malinga.

On the first ball of the over, Watson took a run, while on the second ball, Jadeja gave a strike to Watson and he took two runs off the third ball. But Watson was run out on the fourth ball and now 4 runs were required on the last two balls.

On the fifth ball of the over, Shardul Thakur took 2 runs and 2 more runs were needed but Malinga dismissed Thakur and won the match by one run for Mumbai Indians.

MI won the IPL title for the fourth time in the 2019 season and they won their last trophy in 2020 edition.    

TATA IPL 2024 Begins From Tonight.
Big Announcement Before TATA IPL 2024, Ruturaj Gaikwad to Replace MS Dhoni as Chennai Team Captain

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence