IPL 2024: Indian Premier League
IPL 2024: Indian Premier League

TATA IPL 2024: Which Team Has Won The IPL Title When Their Captain Was Changed?

TATA IPL 2024: In the TATA IPL 2024 season five teams have changed their captains. This season of the cash-rich league tournament will start from Friday, 22nd March 2024 at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Before this season of the IPL starts, let us see which team has changed their captain and won that season of the Indian Premier League.

TATA IPL 2024: The Indian Premier League is a tournament where every fan and player waits for this T20 event to start. The season of the TATA IPL 2024 will start from this Friday, 22nd March 2024 at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

The first game of this edition will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The captaincy is an important aspect of the gentlemen’s game because the skipper is the one who leads the team to glory. However, this time in the TATA IPL 2024 season, five teams have changed their skippers for this edition of the cash rich league tournament.

When a team has one bad season or a couple of editions, then the franchise decides to part ways with the captain.

Having said that, it has been just once in the history of the Indian Premier League that an IPL team has won the title in that season when their captain was changed.

In this segment, today, we will let our viewers and readers know about the IPL franchise that achieved this rare feat in this T20 tournament.

Mumbai Indians Is The Only IPL Franchise That Has Won That Year’s Season When Their Skipper Was Changed

Mumbai Indians franchise side had won their first IPL title in 2013 season
Mumbai Indians franchise side had won their first IPL title in 2013 season

Mumbai Indians is a well-known franchise which is owned by the Ambanis. This franchise has the biggest fan following like CSK and RCB. Sachin Tendulkar is still the main attraction of the Mumbai franchise despite now when the God of Cricket has retired from all forms of fame in 2013.

Mumbai Indians won their maiden IPL title in 2013. But in that season as well, they didn’t start winning from the word go. That time, the captaincy was with one of the greatest leaders of all time, the Aussie great Ricky Pointing. But in mid-season, MI decided to change their skipper.

That was the first time when Rohit Sharma was made as a skipper of a team. HITMAN played for Deccan Chargers earlier before he was brought by the Mumbai Indians franchise. The shift in the captaincy was a masterstroke from the MI side.

Rohit brought the sinking ship of Mumbai Indians back on track and won the IPL trophy for his franchise side, which was their maiden title in 2013.

After that MI won four more trophies under the leadership of Ro-HITMAN Sharma. Apart from 2013, MI also won the titles in 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

But since 2021, MI hasn’t won any IPL trophies and that is why, this franchise Mumbai Indians have decided to go with Hardik Pandya as their new skipper in this season of the TATA IPL 2024.

Hardik won the IPL trophy for Gujarat Titans in their first attempt in 2022 and they also reached the IPL finals last year as well.

Hardik was brought by the IPL franchise of Mumbai Indians mainly for the captaincy purpose. Shubman Gill will lead the Gujarat Titans' side in this TATA IPL 2024, which will be his maiden time to captain any franchise side in the Indian Premier League. MI will start its campaign against GT in this edition on 24th March 2024.  

IPL 2024: Indian Premier League
Will IPL 2024 Be Held Outside India Due to Elections? BCCI Secretary Jay Shah Clarifies All

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence