5 Franchise Teams Will Have A New Skipper In TATA IPL 2024

TATA IPL 2024: The Indian Premier League 2024 will start from next Friday, 22nd March 2024 at MA Chidambaram in Chennai. Before this edition starts, let us know the franchise teams of this cash-rich league tournament which will have new captains during this season of TATA IPL 2024. According to the reports, 5 IPL sides will have new leaders and one of them has won 2 ICC titles in 2023 as the captain of his country.
TATA IPL 2024 Will Have 5 New Captains.
TATA IPL 2024 Will Have 5 New Captains.

TATA IPL 2024: We all know that in cricket a captain plays an important role and makes important decisions on the field during the live match. A captain should be proactive, quick thinker and a learner from the past mistakes because those small errors shouldn’t be repeated in the next matches as they can prove vital in the end, which can be the reason for losses.

In IPL, captains like Rohit Sharma and Mahendra Singh Dhoni have led their teams to five IPL trophies each. But sadly, HITMAN will not lead his side in this TATA IPL 2024 edition.

However, MSD will continue to lead his Yellow Army in this season as well. CSK will be the defending champions during this edition.

Alongside Rohit’s Mumbai Indians, here are the other franchises as well who have changed their skippers for the TATA IPL 2024 edition.

Today in this segment we will let our readers and viewers know about those IPL franchise teams who have changed their captains and one newly added skipper is a winner of two ICC trophies in 2023 for his country –

1. Sunrisers Hyderabad

SRH - The Orange Army.
SRH - The Orange Army.

The Orange Army will have a new skipper in this edition of the TATA IPL 2024. SRH will replace Aiden Markram and they have appointed Pat Cummins as their new leader for this season. Cummins was brought for 20.50 crores.

The Aussie pace bowler is the one who won the 2 ICC titles last year. Australia won the finals of World Test Championship (WTC) in 2023 and the Baggy Green side won the ODI World Cup 2023 in India as well. Those two wins in the ICC tournament came versus the Men in Blue under the captaincy of Pat Cummins.

SRH is hoping that Cummins will lead the Orange Army to their glory in this TATA IPL 2024. In 2016 season of the Indian Premier League, Sunrisers Hyderabad won their second title under another Australian player, David Warner.

While their first title came in 2009 when the team was named as Deccan Chargers and it was Adam Gilchrist, another player from the Aussie nation who gave them their first ever IPL trophy. In 2009 and 2016, SRH defeated RCB in the finals.

2. Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma Will Not Captain The Mumbai Indians Team In TATA IPL 2024.
Rohit Sharma Will Not Captain The Mumbai Indians Team In TATA IPL 2024.

The five-time champions side of the Indian Premier League has decided to part ways with the captain who gave them the five trophies. Before Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians did not win a single trophy in this tournament. However, after HITMAN became the skipper MI won their titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020.

Still, the franchise of Mumbai Indians decided not to continue with Rohit Sharma for this edition of TATA IPL 2024. MI signed Hardik Pandya in the squad and straightaway, he is named as the skipper of this franchise.

Pandya will leave his Gujarat Titans team to lead his old side of MI. GT had won their first IPL title in 2022 and they reached the finals in 2023 as well.

3. Gujarat Titans

TATA IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans Will Have The Prince As Their Skipper
TATA IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans Will Have The Prince As Their Skipper

As mentioned above, GT won their maiden trophy in 2023 and they achieved this miracle in their first attempt. The Titans also reached the finals in the last IPL season of 2023 and both the milestones were achieved under Hardik Pandya.

Since Hardik has moved to Mumbai Indians, Gujarat will have a new skipper for this season of TATA IPL 2024 season. The Prince of Cricket, Shubman Gill is set to lead in the Indian Premier League tournament for the first time.

Shubman Gill will lead the Titans side in TATA IPL 2024 edition. The opener was the orange cap holder in the last season when GT made to the finals in 2023. Now Gill and co will want to go one step ahead in this season and win the title as well.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders - KKR
Kolkata Knight Riders - KKR

The Purple Army is the second-last franchise side to have a new leader in this season of TATA IPL 2024. Kolkata Knight Riders will replace Nitish Rana and they have appointed Shreyas Iyer as their new skipper for this edition of cash-rich league tournament.

Iyer had missed the last season due to injury and that’s why Rana was named as the skipper of KKR. But Kolkata Knight Riders didn't do that well in the last season. Apart from Rinku Singh, none of the batters were good for them. KKR will hope to turn things around in this season of the IPL.

5. Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals (DC)
Delhi Capitals (DC)

The franchise of DC will replace David Warner to Rishabh Pant in this season of TATA IPL 2024. Pant was not available in the last season due to his health condition. But now the BCCI has declared that the flamboyant wicketkeeper batsman is fit to play.

In the absence of Pant, DC had a struggling year because David Warner didn’t do well as the skipper of that franchise team and his bat was also silent. So, this year DC will look to do well and maybe clinch their maiden title as well.

TATA IPL 2024 Will Have 5 New Captains.
TATA IPL 2024: Batting And Captaincy Records of Virat Kohli In Indian Premier League

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence