TATA IPL 2024: 3 Teams Who Have Chased 200 Plus Runs The Most Times In Single Edition

TATA IPL 2024: In the history of the Indian Premier League of all editions, Mumbai Indians had achieved the feat of chasing 200 or more runs three times in a single season and they are the only side to do that in this cash-rich league tournament. However, today we will mention the other two teams who have achieved this feat twice in this event.
TATA IPL 2024 Starts From Tomorrow
TATA IPL 2024 Starts From Tomorrow

TATA IPL 2024: The IPL has given a thrilling experience in each season since 2008 and many games of this tournament have even finished on the last ball.

Due to that, the viewers have been glued to their TV sets and in this season as well, the TATA IPL 2024 will be full of action, thrill and drama.

In tomorrow’s encounter between CSK Vs RCB, another blockbuster clash is on the cards because both teams will want to win the first match of this season. The first match will be played at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai tomorrow, 22nd March 2024.

A run chase of more than 200 runs isn’t easy in the T20 Format. The opposition team who have scored that many runs is on top and the chasing side is under pressure.

But in the Indian Premier League, nothing is assured till the last delivery is bowled. A team needs just one good over to change the momentum of the game and win that match.

Having said that, three teams have achieved this record of chasing down the score of 200 or more runs and that too more than once in a single of this cash-rich league tournament.

In today’s segment, we will name those three franchise sides who have achieved this feat in the tournament so far. 

1. Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians

The five-time IPL winning team Mumbai Indians is the only team so far to chase down a score of 200 or more runs three times in a single season of the Indian Premier League.

In the history of this cash-rich league event, MI has chased 213 runs against Rajasthan Royals, 215 against the Punjab Kings and 200 against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

MI won all these games by a margin of six wickets. In their last match against RCB, MI chased the score with 21 balls to spare which is a record in this event.

2. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

The Yellow Army, CSK
The Yellow Army, CSK

The Yellow Army is the defending champion in this year’s tournament. Dhoni and his men will look to win the most titles in this edition of IPL 2024.

CSK is now with Mumbai Indians with five IPL titles each. The five time champion side will look to start the tournament with a win against Royal Challengers Bengaluru tomorrow at their fortress.

In the season of 2018, Chennai Super Kings had won their third IPL title. The Yellow Army had chased down two scores when the target was of 200 or more runs.

Against Kolkata Knight Riders, CSK chased down the score of 203 runs and won that game by five wickets and in that same edition against RCB,

Chennai was superb to chase down 206 runs with two balls to spare. Chennai Super Kings won that match by five wickets as well.  

3. Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Punjab Kings (PBKS)
Punjab Kings (PBKS)

The last team which is mentioned in this list is a trophy-less team of this cash-rich league tournament. Despite the change in name and change of many captains, Punjab Kings have been qualified for the finals just once.

In this year’s edition of TATA IPL 2024, PBKS will aim to start the season well and go through their second finals.

The 2014 IPL edition was the best one for Punjab Kings because they made to the finals. That edition was played in United Arab Emirates and the other half was played in India.

PBKS (Punjab Kings) also chased down a total of 200 or more runs as a target twice in that season of 2014.

PBKS chased down 205 runs which was scored when Chennai Super Kings batted first and against Sunrisers Hyderabad, Punjab Kings scored 211 runs in reply to their 205 runs. Punjab won both matches by a margin of six wickets.  

TATA IPL 2024 Starts From Tomorrow
3 Old Teams Have Changed Their Names But They Are Yet To Win An IPL Trophy

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence