3 Old Teams Have Changed Their Names But They Are Yet To Win An IPL Trophy

TATA IPL 2024: In the history of the Indian Premier League, there are three franchise teams that have changed their names. But they are yet to win an IPL season. These teams weren’t lucky enough to win this cash-rich league tournament even once since the very first edition of 2008. Today, in this segment, we will reveal the names of those three teams who haven’t won a single title despite changing their names.

TATA IPL 2024: This season of the of the Indian Premier League also promises to be a grand affair like all the previous seasons of this cash-rich league tournament.

The TATA IPL 2024 edition starts in just two days. The first match will be played between CSK Vs RCB at Chennai’s fortress MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Friday, 22nd March 2024.

The Indian Premiere League hasn’t been an easy tournament to play and win. The strategies, mind games and preparation on the field are the key to success in the game of cricket to win the Indian Premier League.

There are teams who have changed their names, thinking that it might bring them some good luck and they would end their trophyless drought in this cash-rich league tournament.

But that has not happened in seasons of the IPL till now since 2008. Not a single team who have changed their names, has ever lifted the title even once in the history of this T20 event.

Today in this segment, we will mention the three teams who have changed the name of their franchises. But they haven’t grabbed their hands on the final glory even once in the IPL.  

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore To Royal Challengers Bengaluru

TATA IPL 2024: RCB Will Play Their Opening Game Against CSK On 22nd March 2024.
TATA IPL 2024: RCB Will Play Their Opening Game Against CSK On 22nd March 2024.

This franchise team promises to win the title every year. But they have failed to deliver in the crunch moments. RCB has reached the finals three times in 2009, 2011 and 2016.

Still, they have not won this trophy even once despite being part of this event since 2008. Earlier RCB was called as Royal Challengers Bangalore. Now in TATA IPL , this side will be called Royal Challengers Bengaluru.

The loyal fans of the RCB will want their side to be the first team in the history of this tournament to win the title after they have changed their name.

2. Kings XI Punjab To Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings (PBKS)
Punjab Kings (PBKS)

The team of Kings XI Punjab has been called Punjab Kings since 2021 edition of the Indian Premier League. Still, their fortunes haven’t changed yet as they haven’t won a single season as of now.

The PBKS side had reached the finals of the IPL only once since 2008. That was the IPL season of 2014 when the current RCB player, Glenn Maxwell amassed the most runs for them.  

The first half of the IPL 2014 season was played in the United Arab Emirates and next half was played in India.

But in this season of TATA IPL 2024, PBKS will want to do well and end their trophyless drought in this cash-rich tournament.

3. Delhi Daredevils To Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capitals (DC)
Delhi Capitals (DC)

The Capitals is the last team in this segment who also changed their name. This team was earlier known as Delhi Daredevils. They reached their first-ever playoff in the IPL 2019 season and they made it to the finals for the first time in the IPL 2020 edition when the whole season was held in UAE due to COVID-19 pandemic.

Despite that, the DC franchise didn’t win the IPL even once till now. Last year was a disaster for the Capitals. But in the TATA IPL 2024, DC would be thrilled to have Rishabh Pant back on their side as the captain.

Pant will be coming from a long break and he would be the player to watch out for as well in this edition of the IPL.

AUS Vs IND: 5 Venues Announced For India’s Tour Of Australia Later This Year

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence