Trophy-Less Franchises of IPL: These 4 Teams of Indian Premier League are Yet to Win The Trophy

Trophy-Less Franchises of IPL: There are six teams who have won an IPL Trophy in the history of this cash-rich league tournament. However, there are other four franchise teams as well in the Indian Premier League who have not won the IPL title even once. So today let us know about the IPL teams who have not won this event even once so far.
Trophy-Less Franchises of IPL
Trophy-Less Franchises of IPLImage Credit: Arjun Singh / Sportzpics for IPL

Trophy-Less Franchises of IPL: The TATA IPL 2023 season has been awesome like all the previous editions of this cash-rich league tournament.

In today’s encounter, the table toppers, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will take on the inaugural winner of the Indian Premier League event in 2008, RR (Rajasthan Royals) at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

Despite the return of home and away matches, many teams have lost games on their home grounds, which is why this year’s event has been more exciting to watch.

Winning an IPL title is a matter of glory for the captains of their respective franchise teams. The Indian Premiere League hasn’t been an easy tournament to play and win.

Many teams have started poorly and still, they have won an IPL trophy. While some teams start winning from the first match of the season and yet they don’t grab their hands on the final glory.

The IPL trophy has been won by several teams over the years, including Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad/Deccan Chargers, and the current defending champions, Gujarat Titans (GT).

There is a lot of discussion and analysis surrounding these teams and their respective victories in the tournament.

But no one talks about the teams who have not won an IPL title even once despite being part of this tournament since the first season of 2008.

Apart from Lucknow Super Giants, the other three teams mentioned below are playing this cash-rich league tournament since the first-ever edition. Today let us know about them in this segment.

Trophy-Less Franchises of IPL
Virat’s Cheesy Love Life! Take a Look at Kohli’s Affairs before Anushka Sharma

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

RCB Team
RCB Team

The Bangalore team promises to win the title every year. But they have failed to deliver in the crunch moments. This team has reached the finals three times in 2009, 2011, and 2016.

Still, they have not won this trophy even once despite being part of this event since 2008. In the current season of 2023 as well, the chances look slim because they haven’t been consistent as an all-round team.

RCB is on the fifth position with eight points. They have played four matches till now with four wins and that many losses under their belt. 

2. Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Punjab Kings (PBKS)
Punjab Kings (PBKS)

This team was earlier called Kings XI Punjab and now they have changed the name to Punjab Kings. Still, their fortunes haven’t changed yet.

The PBKS side had reached the finals of the IPL only once since 2008. That was the IPL season of 2014 when the current RCB player, Glenn Maxwell amassed the most runs for them. 

The first half of the IPL 2014 season was played in the United Arab Emirates and the next half was played in India.

PBKS have started this season well. But they will have to continue their winning streak as the playoff race will begin soon.

Dhawan and Co are placed sixth on the points table with four wins and three losses from seven matches played till now.  

3. Delhi Capitals (DC)

Delhi Capitals (DC)
Delhi Capitals (DC)

The Capitals too have changed their name. This team was earlier known as Delhi Daredevils. Under the leadership of Shreyas Iyer, DC had achieved new heights.

They reached their first-ever playoff in IPL 2019 season and they made it to the finals for the first time in IPL 2020 edition when the whole season was held in UAE.

Despite that, the DC franchise had parted ways with Shreyas Iyer. Now in the current season, the team is placed last on the points table with four points.

Under Warner, DC has lost five opening games on the trot. However, they have won two back-to-back matches.

4. Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

As mentioned earlier, the LSG team is the new team in this tournament and they have been part of this event since the IPL 2022 season just like the current defending champions, Gujarat Titans.

The LSG team made it to the playoff in the TATA IPL 2022 season and they have done a decent job till now. The team is placed fourth on the points table with eight points.

KL Rahul and his Giants team will look to move a step ahead in the current edition of the TATA Indian Premiere League 2023 season.

By: Kaushal Kowjalgi

Trophy-Less Franchises of IPL
TATA IPL 2023: 6 Batters with Most Centuries in Single Season

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence