KKR: 3 Players From Kolkata Knight Riders Have Scored A Century In Indian Premier League

KKR: In the match number 31st of the Indian Premier League in the current season of TATA IPL 2024, Sunil Narine scored a century. The West Indian spin bowling who opens the innings for his franchise side, KKR, became just the third batter from Kolkata Knight Riders to achieve this amazing milestone in the history of TATA IPL. Today we shall mention the 2 other players from the Purple Army who scored a ton in this cash rich league tournament.
KKR - Kolkata Knight Riders
KKR - Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR: The cricket carnival named the Indian Premier League has been at its best for pure class, entertainment, thrill and drama. Since 2008, the IPL has been a huge source of joy amongst the cricket fans and followers. This cash rich league tournament has produced many thrillers and yesterday as well, the game between KKR and RR was a mighty sportive contest.

KKR batted first and scored 223 runs from their allotted 20 overs quota. The Purple Army reached that mammoth score only because of Sunil Narine. The West Indian spinner who bats as a opener for KKR smashed his first ever century in the IPL. However, Narine’s magical knock was overshadowed by Jos Buttler in another run chase.

The T20 World Cup winning skipper of England, Buttler scored another ton in this year’s TATA IPL 2024 in a run chase. He scored a magical ton against RCB as well where Virat Kohli scored his 8th IPL century. In game against KKR, Jos the Boss guided the double R’s home with just two wickets in hand. Royal Buttler was unbeaten on 107 runs from just 56 balls.

Today, in this segment we shall mention the 3 batters from KKR who have scored a century in history of the Indian Premier League –

1. Brendon McCullum -

The Kiwi Batter And Former Skipper Brendon McCullum.
The Kiwi Batter And Former Skipper Brendon McCullum.

The Kiwi batter, Brendon McCullum was the first ever player to smash a century in history of the Indian Premier League. The current head coach of England, Baz lit up the 1st match of this cash rich league tournament with an amazing ton in the season of IPL 2008.

McCullum scored an unbeaten 158 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore at M Chinnaswamy Stadium and KKR won that match by 140 runs. Brendon’s ton is the only match winning one for KKR. The other two tons which are mentioned below came when the Purple Army lost those games.

2. Venkatest Iyer -

Venkatesh Iyer From KKR.
Venkatesh Iyer From KKR. Image Source - BCCI

The pace bowling all rounder of the KKR side, Venkatesh Iyer is the only Indian batter to score a century in the Indian Premier League. Iyer was considered as the best all rounder in the shortest format and that is why he also got chances to play for the country.

Super Venky is the second batter to from the Purple Army to amass a ton. He scored 104 runs against the five time champion side, Mumbai Indians in IPL 2023 season. But that ton went in vain as MI won that game by 5 wickets and 14 balls to spare.

3. Sunil Narine -

Sunil Narine, The Batter And Spinner Of KKR
Sunil Narine, The Batter And Spinner Of KKR

As of now, this list ends with Sunil Narine, who is the latest entrant to reach the three figure mark in the Indian Premier League. The explosive batter, Narine, is just the 3rd player from KKR to score a ton in this cash rich league tournament.

Sunil blasted 109 runs from just 56 balls. He also picked up two scalps and took one catch. However his efforts with the ball and on the field went in vain as his first and only ton in this T20 tournament ended up in a losing cause. KKR lost that game by just 2 wickets at Eden Gardens.

KKR - Kolkata Knight Riders
3 Indians With Most Sixes In IPL History

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence