Australians In IPL: Can Pat Cummins Achieve This Feat In The Current Year Of TATA IPL 2024?

Australians In IPL: Pat Cummins is the holder of two events of the International Cricket Council. Under Cummins, the Aussies had won the World Test Championship final and ODI World Cup final in 2023. Both of these wins came versus India. Now can he translate that glory in the Indian Premier League as well? Here are the 3 other Australian skippers who have won an IPL title earlier.
Australians In IPL: Pat Cummins Won The WTC Title And ODI World Cup Trophy In 2023.
Australians In IPL: Pat Cummins Won The WTC Title And ODI World Cup Trophy In 2023. Image Source - ICC

Australians In IPL: Sunrisers Hyderabad is doing well under the leadership of their new skipper Pat Cummins. The Orange Army are creating records with the bat in hand and their bowling has also been decent on the flat surfaces of India. SRH has gone past 250 plus totals thrice in this season of TATA IPL 2024. Their 287 runs is also the highest score in this tournament.

The team under Pat Cummins went past their own score of 277 runs which they scored against the five-time champion side of Mumbai Indians in this current season.

Their batting has been more aggressive in the powerplay overs and that’s why the Orange Men of Hyderabad have registered the highest score in the first six overs. They smashed 125 runs in just 36 balls, means six overs and that too without losing a wicket.

In the TATA IPL 2024, the Sunrisers Hyderabad side is placed 3rd on the points table and there is a high possibility of making it to the playoffs as well. Cummins has been a brilliant leader and bowler for the Hyderabadi side in this season.

He has led a team in the IPL for the first ever time. Now he can be the fourth player from the Aussie nation to lift a title in the Indian Premier League. Cummins can also be just the second captain after Mahendra Singh Dhoni to lift an ODI World Cup title and an IPL trophy if he wins the TATA IPL 2024.

MS Dhoni is the only skipper in this world to grab his hands on all the three ICC Trophies, 5 titles of the cash-rich league tournament and also Mahi Bhai has won the CLT20 (Champions League) for two times in 2010 and 2014.  

Australians In IPL: Pat Cummins - The Skipper Of SRH.
Australians In IPL: Pat Cummins - The Skipper Of SRH. Image Source - IPL/Twitter

In this segment today, we will name three Aussie players who had won an IPL trophy as the captain of their IPL teams before Patrick Cummins –

1. Late Shane Warne

Late Shane Warne
Late Shane WarneImage Credit: PTI

The Rajasthan Royals side (RR) was the champions of the first-ever season of the Indian Premier League and that win had come under the mentorship and leadership of the greatest player from Australia, Late Shane Warne.

The Double R’s defeated the Yellow Army, CSK, in the finals and they were crowned as the champions that time. The Royals are still searching for their second title since then and they made it to the finals in the TATA IPL 2022 season after 14 long years.

But Sanju Samson and his men were defeated by the new team of the 2022 edition Gujarat Titans in the finals and their dreams of winning the 2nd title is still on in TATA IPL 2024 as well. Hardik Pandya won GT their 1st trophy in his 1st attempt.

2. Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist
Adam GilchristImage Credit: AFP

The most explosive wicket-keeper batter of all time Adam Gilchrist is the second player from Australia to win an IPL title in the history of this tournament. Gilly was the skipper of the Deccan Chargers (DC) side and the former skipper of the Mumbai Indians side, Rohit Sharma was also in their squad.

The Chargers defeated the Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) in the 2009 finals of the IPL. The RCB side was led by Anil Kumble. Gilly was the captain of the Kings XI Punjab side as well from 2011 to 2013. But he couldn’t repeat the heroics which he did for the Deccan Chargers side earlier.

3. David Warner

Australians In IPL: David Warner
Australians In IPL: David Warner

The last player from Australia to win an IPL title as a captain is David Warner. The dashing opening batter was the skipper who led the Sunrisers Hyderabad to glory in the IPL season of 2016, the season which also saw Virat Kohli amass 973 runs, the most in a single season and Kohli also smashed four IPL centuries. That century record was equalled by Jos Buttler in IPL 2022 season for the Rajasthan Royals.  

Warner won the finals of that season when the SRH side defeated Virat and his men from the RCB side in that game. Dashing Warner also led the SRH side again.

But he couldn’t repeat the same heroics with that same team. He also captained the Delhi Capitals when Rishabh Pant was injured. But that also didn’t go well for him. Now David plays only as an opener for the Capitals team in this season of TATA IPL 2024.

Australians In IPL: Pat Cummins Won The WTC Title And ODI World Cup Trophy In 2023.
3 Players With A Hat-Trick And Century In Indian Premier League

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence