AUS Vs WI: 4 Teams Who Have Won Test Match in Brisbane

AUS Vs WI: Australia’s fortress at the Gabba in Brisbane was breached for the second time now. After India earned a famous win at that most iconic venue in 2021, West Indies also achieved this similar spectacular feat in January 2024. By doing so, the Windies also drew the two match series of the red ball format against the Aussies to one all.
West Indies Bagged Their Fourth Win At The Gabba In Brisbane
West Indies Bagged Their Fourth Win At The Gabba In Brisbane

AUS Vs WI: Winning a Test match in Australia has never been so easy for the touring opposition teams. But India is the country who won the two back-to-back red ball series in the Aussie nation so far and they will tour Down Under in December 2024.

The Men in Blue will look to seal their third series on the trot in that country on this visit. India had won the red ball format series in 2019 under Virat Kohli's leadership and their second series win came in 2021 even when Kohli and other main members of the team were not there.

India even breached the fortress of Australia on their last tour of 2020/2021. Before India won at the Gabba in Brisbane, it was hard to defeat the Aussies at that most iconic venue. However now, the West Indies have emerged victorious at that venue.

This win came after the visitors, Windies lost the opening Test match at the Adelaide Oval by 10 wickets. The record of West Indies in Australia was also not that great. Still, they had put everything behind and gave Australia a shock.

Shamar Joesph Of West Indies
Shamar Joesph Of West Indies Image Source - Twitter

West Indies won the second and the last red ball match of this series by just eight runs and also drew the series by a margin of 1 all. This win for the Windies came in the Aussie nation came after 27 long years. West Indies last Test match win in Australia came in 1997 at Perth, where Windies won that game by 10 wickets.

Shamar Joseph took seven wickets in the second innings which allowed West Indies to win this match. The Windies had set the target of 216 runs. But Joseph’s masterclass bowling performance allowed his team to end the winless drought of Test wins in Australia as the home side fell just eight runs.

Today, in this segment, we will reveal the four teams who won the Test match at their fortress of Australia at Gabba in Brisbane -

Australia Winning Streak At Gabba in Brisbane Was Ended By India

India Had Won Their Last Test Series In Australia At The Gabba, Brisbane
India Had Won Their Last Test Series In Australia At The Gabba, Brisbane

Australia has played 66 red ball matches at Gabba in Brisbane and the Aussies also had a winning streak from 1988 to 2021 at this venue. But in 2021, it was India who broke that winning run and after three long years the West Indies too have joined in this elite list of the teams who have won the Test match at the Gabba in Brisbane.

England and West Indies are the only teams who have won the most red ball matches at the Gabba in Brisbane. They have defeated the Aussies four times each at this venue till now and overall only four sides have been successful in winning at Gabba in Brisbane. The Aussies have lost 10 Test matches and their winning percentage is 63.63 at this stadium.

1. England was the first team to register a win at the fortress venue of Australia. But they have not won a single Test match at this venue since 1986. As mentioned earlier, England had won four matches at the Gabba in Brisbane and their wins came in 1933 (their first ever win), 1936, 1978 and last win as of now was in 1986.

2. West Indies – The Windies had created a magic at Brisbane on this tour. They were successful in bagging their fourth win at the Gabba. The first win for the Caribbean side came in 1968 where the Windies won by 125 runs. Then the last three wins of West Indies came in 1984, 1988 and 2024.

3. New Zealand – The Kiwis also won at the Gabba in Brisbane. New Zealand is the only side in this list who had registered a win of an innings that too against the Aussies at their fortress venue. Their lone win at the Gabba in Brisbane came in 1985 where the Kiwis won the Test match by an innings and 41 runs.

4. India – The Men in Blue won their last series in Australia on their tour to 2020/2021. They won their first game of that series in Melbourne Cricket Ground after horrifying start at the Adelaide Oval. After India won at MCG, they drew the Test match at Sydney and then won the last match at Gabba in Brisbane by three wickets.  

West Indies Bagged Their Fourth Win At The Gabba In Brisbane
Test Matches: Is Shubman Gill The Right Batter For Number 3 Batting Position in Red Ball Format?

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence