Microblogging platform Twitter is working on some new features, with which users will get a special option related to the conversation when tagged. At present, all users have the option of tweeting or replying while tagging someone on Twitter. At the same time, the microblogging company is constantly trying to give more control over the conversations happening on the platform. With the new feature, after being tagged in a tweet, you will be able to untag yourself.
Twitter is testing a new way to untag users who don't want to be part of a thread. Tech researcher Jane Manchun Wong, in a new tweet, explained how this feature would be helpful. This feature will untag the username from conversations on Twitter and prevent people on the platform from mentioning it again in that particular thread.
'The Verge' in its report has shared a screenshot of the 'Leave this conversation' feature and explained how it works. With the help of this feature, users will be able to untag their username from any Twitter conversation, after which they will not be able to be tagged again in the conversation. In this way, users will not get notifications related to those conversations which they do not want to be a part of.
Tech researcher Jane Manchun Wong has told about this on her Twitter handle that the Twitter handle of users will look like plain text when they leave the conversation. As of now, the username is hyperlinked when a tweet is mentioned and the profile can be viewed by clicking or tapping on it. This way other people involved in the conversation will know that you do not want to be a part of the thread and then you will not be sent notifications.