Leader Of NCP, Sharad Pawar Resigned From His Position As NCP President

Amidst rumors of his nephew Ajit Pawar potentially aligning with the BJP, the influential Maratha leader Sharad Pawar has declared his decision to step down as the NCP President.
Sharad Pawar announced his resignation
Sharad Pawar announced his resignation

Sharad Pawar, a seasoned politician who has served as a Union Minister in the past, has chosen to resign from his role as the President of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

There has been no indication about who will succeed him as NCP chief. 

"I have decided to step down as the president of the NCP," Pawar stated during the presentation of the second edition of his autobiography Lok Maze Sangati.

He also stated that he would no longer run for office and that after such a long career, one must consider retiring.

Speaking to a crowd at the opening of the second edition of his autobiography, 'Lok Maze Sangati'. Pawar, who created the NCP in 1999, has stated that he will no longer run for office. 

Pawar’s announcement of resignation

"I still have three years in the Rajya Sabha. I will not run for office again in the future. During the next three years, I will focus more on state and national issues. I will not take on any new duties... "One should not be greedy," stated the former Union Minister. 

Pawar's supporters criticized his decision to retire as NCP president. As chants of 'take back your decision' rang out throughout the hall, NCP leaders urged Pawar to reconsider his decision. 

Loyalists greeted Pawar with folded hands after his speech, urging him to reconsider his choice. When Pawar announced his resignation, senior NCP leaders Jayant Patil and Anil Deshmukh were present. 

Pawar’s announcement of resignation
Pawar’s announcement of resignation

Formation of new committee

Sharad Pawar has put forth his resignation and suggested the establishment of a committee consisting of experienced NCP officials to assess the next course of action.

“The committee includes, Praful Patel, PC Chacko, Chhagan Bhujabl, Ajit Pawar, Supriya Sule, Jayant Patil, Hasan Mushrif, Dilip Walse-Patil, Anil Deshmukh, Rajesh Tope, Jitendra Awhad, Narhari Zirwal, Sunil Tatkare, Dhananjay Munde, Jaydev Gaikwad and chiefs of party frontal cells,” Pawar said.

During a joint appearance on Tuesday, Ajit Pawar revealed that the decision to resign was due to his personal age and health circumstances.

He also mentioned that a few days earlier, Sharad Pawar had recognized the importance of a change in leadership.

We should consider his decision in light of his age and health. Everyone must decide in accordance with time. 

Sharad Pawar announced his resignation
NIA to Probe Ram Navami Violence in West Bengal Following Calcutta High Court Order

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence