Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju Rewarded Paraathletics Champions with Cash Prize

Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju honoured the Indian medal winners at world Para-athletics champions with cash prize.
Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju Rewarded Paraathletics Champions with Cash Prize

Kiran Rijiju rewarded the champions of Paraathletics. Indian players performed brilliantly in this championship held at Dubai. Indian players won total of nine medals including two golds, 2 silvers and five bronze medals. Apart from this, India achieves 13 quota for Tokyo Paralympic Games2020. India has achieved 23 quota so far for Olympics.

As a reward, Rs 20 lakhs was given to gold medal winners Sandeep Chaudhary and Sundar Singh of F64 and F46 competition of Javelin throw. During this, Sandeep Chaudhary won the gold medal in the F44 Javelin throw event with a distance of 66.18 meters, setting a world record.  Sunder Singh apart from his shoulder injury successfully defended his record in F46 Javelin throw.  Sumit Antil, winner of F44 javelin throw gets 14 lakhs cash prize. Sharad Kumar, who won the silver in the high Jump T63 event, was also given the same prize money.

Five players who won bronze were awarded 8 lakhs each. It included Vinay Kumar Lal (men's 400m, T44), Yogesh Kathunia (men's flywheel throw, F56), Mariyappan Thangavelu (men's high jump, T63), Nishad Kumar (men's high jump, T47) and Ajit Singh (men's javelin throw f46) are included.

Rijiju said during the event, "On behalf of the country, the ministry and the government, I salute the players for this performance. We have ensured that you get financial assistance at the right time. I hope you will continue to win medals for the country in future as well. We are focusing on trying to improve your training facility and will give you all possible help. "

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since Independence