Indian Team Announced for Series Against West Indies

The Indian team was announced on Thursday for the limited-overs home series against West Indies.
Indian Team Announced for Series Against West Indies

After a long time in the T20 team, Fast bowler Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has returned to the Indian team. Pacer Deepak Chahar, who took a hat-trick in the T20 series against Bangladesh, has been included in the One-Day team along with the T20. Young Wicketkeeper batsman Sanju Samson, who was included in the 15-member squad against Bangladesh, was dropped from the team without being given a chance. Ravindra Jadeja replaced Krunal Pandya in T20 after ODI. Shardul Thakur was also shown the way out.

Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant have been trusted by the selectors despite poor performances, both of whom have been retained in the squad for the format. At the same time, Kedar Jadhav managed to retain his place in the ODI team. He was also a member of the team on the West Indies tour. Mumbai's young all-rounder Shivam Dubey has also been given a chance in the T20's one-day squad, after domestic cricket, he also impressed in the T20 series against Bangladesh. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are back in the ODI team.

The meeting of the selection committee in Kolkata was attended by chairman MSK Prasad, selection committee members Gagan Khoda, Sharandeep Singh, Jatin Paranjpe and Debang Gandhi, besides Indian captain Virat Kohli, newly appointed chairman of the board Sourav Ganguly, vice-chairman Jay Shah.

ODI team: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dubey, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Deepak Chahar and Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

T20I team: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dubey, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumarand Mohammed Shami.

The Indian team has to play three T20 matches against the West Indies which will be played in Mumbai (6 December), Thiruvananthapuram (8 December) and Hyderabad (11 December). The three ODIs are to be held in Chennai (15 December), Visakhapatnam (18 December) and Cuttack (22 December).

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since Independence