Google has Deleted 29 Malicious “Beauty Camera” Apps

Pro Camera Beauty, Cartoon Art Photo and Emoji Camera had been downloaded over a million times, which is unsurprising given the popularity of such apps.
Google has Deleted 29 Malicious “Beauty Camera” Apps

There's no lack of loveliness camera apps on Google Play Store, spawn by the selfie craze that refuses to die out. But the huge risk in downloading such apps was tinted last month, with US-based cybersecurity firm Trend Micro discovered "more than a few" of them able of access distant ad pattern servers that can be used for the hateful purpose, counting stealing information and scamming users.

In fact, Google has deleted 29 malicious "beauty camera" apps that were sharing pornographic satisfied and forward users to phishing websites to steal their information. Some of these apps like Pro Camera Beauty, Cartoon Art Photo and Emoji Camera had been downloaded over a million times, which is predictable given the reputation of such apps. Worryingly, "a large number of the download counts originate from Asia – particularly in India," Trend Micro said in a recent blog post.

According to the firm, a user downloading such hateful apps will not suspect no matter which is amiss until he/she decides to delete the app. "Take, for example, the package com.beauty.camera.project.cloud, which will create a shortcut after being launched. However, it will hide its icon from the request list, making it harder for users to uninstall the app since they will be unable to drag and delete it," it explain, adding, that the camera apps furthermore "use packers" to stop them from being analyzed.

And while being saddled with the doubtful apps, users would have to deal with several full-screen ads on unlocking their devices, counting deceitful content and pornography popping up via their browsers. Considerably, the firm flagged off that since none of the criminal apps gave any suggestion that they are the ones at the rear the ads, users might find it difficult to decide where they're coming from. "Some of these apps redirect to phishing websites that ask the user for personal in sequences, such as addresses and phone numbers," said Trend Micro. "During our analysis, we found a paid online pornography player that was downloaded when clicking the pop-up. Take note, however, that nothing will play, even after the user pays and executes the player."

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since Independence
www.sinceindependence.com