Full List of Cricket ICC ODI World Cup Winners

ODI World Cup Winners List: Australia has won the most ICC ODI World Cup trophies. The Aussies have won five of them and there are other teams like India and West Indies who have won two ODI WC titles each. While Pakistan, England and Sri Lanka have won this tournament just once till now.
Full List of Cricket ICC ODI World Cup Winners
Full List of Cricket ICC ODI World Cup Winners

ODI World Cup Winners List: Every team wants to participate in the Cricket World Cup tournament because winning this event means a lot to the teams.

Earlier the World Cup tournament was played only in the fifty-overs format. But now, the T20 International format and Test matches also have a World Cup event.

The T20I world cup event is known as World T20 or the T20 World Cup, which is played after every two years.

While the world cup event in the traditional red ball matches is called World Test Championship (WTC). This ICC mega event in the Test matches is played in a two-year cycle.

New Zealand and Australia are the winners of the first two cycles of the WTC as both the teams had defeated India in those events.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have announced the full fixtures of the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup 2023, which will be played in India from 5th October 2023 to November 19th 2023.

The much-awaited India Vs Pakistan clash is fixed on Sunday, 15th October 2023.

So, before this ICC mega events starts, let us look at the teams who have won the ICC ODI World Cup:

  1. Australia – ODI World Cup winners in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015

  2. West Indies - World Cup winners in 1975 and 1979

  3. India – ODI World Cup winners in 1983 and 2011

  4. Pakistan – ODI World Cup winner in 1992 

  5. Sri Lanka - ODI World Cup winner in 1996 

  6.  England – ODI World Cup winner in 2019

West Indies was the inaugural winners of the Cricket ODI World Cup and that too for back-to-back times. Under the leadership of Clive Lloyd, the Windies were the winners of 1975 and 1979.

Lloyd and his men were also in the finals of the 1983 World Cup. But they lost to Kapil Dev’s India in the finals at Lords.

In the event, Team India won their first ever world cup and after a wait of 28 long years under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, India won their second ODI World Cup and they were also the first host country to win this tournament. 

Australia is the most successful team in the history of the world cup in the fifty-overs format. They have won five ODI World Cup titles till now.

While the other three who have won this ICC mega event once are Pakistan, Sri Lanka and the defending champions England, who hold the trophy after they won a nail-biting final against New Zealand.

The Kiwis and The Proteas have always been the favourites to win this ODI event of the fifty-overs format. But New Zealand and South Africa have never won a single tournament till now.

They are placed with the teams like Bangladesh, Afghanistan and other associate members who have not won the ODI World Cup even once as of now.

By: Kaushal Kowjalgi

Full List of Cricket ICC ODI World Cup Winners
Sharad Pawar Announces Opposition Parties' Meeting to be Held in Bengaluru, Not Shimla

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence