5 Indian Players with Longest Sixes in IPL

IPL (Indian Premier League) is a tournament where the players are given awards for hitting the most sixes in the match.
5 Indian Players with Longest Sixes in  IPL
5 Indian Players with Longest Sixes in IPLImage Credit: Since Independence

Six-Hitting has been a craze in cricket. Kapil Dev had smashed four sixes in Test matches to save India the follow on in a match against England. Yuvraj Singh is the only Indian to smash Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over in a T20 International match against England.

Cash-Rich League Tournament

IPL (Indian Premier League) is a tournament where the players are given awards for hitting the most sixes in the match. The cash-rich league tournament is played in the shortest format, so the batsmen are prepared to hit the maximum, which also entertains the crowd. Chris Gayle, the Universal Boss, is the player who has smashed the most sixes in the Indian Premier League.

5 Indian Players with Longest Sixes in  IPL
MI vs RCB: Mumbai Indians Faces Fourth Consecutive Defeat in IPL

Chris Gayle has hit 357 sixes

West Indies opener Chris Gayle has hit 357 sixes in his name. But today, we shall speak about the 5 Indian players who have hit the longest six in the history of the Indian Premier League. From this list, only two players are active in this current 15th edition of the TATA Indian Premiere League 2022 edition.

5 Indian Players with Longest Sixes in IPL

  • Praveen Kumar (124 Metre)

Praveen Kumar
Praveen KumarImage Credit: GettyImages

Many of us will be surprised to see a fast bowler at the top of this list. Praveen Kumar, the former pacer of the Indian team, has smashed six of 124 meters in the cash-rich league tournament. Overall, Praveen had hit the second-highest six in the tournament. Another interesting fact is that he has achieved this feat against the best bowler of Sri Lanka and Mumbai Indians (MI), Lasith Malinga.

  • Robbin Uthappa (122 Metre)

The seasoned opener in the Indian Premier League, Robin Uthappa had smashed fourth overall longest six, and he has been included second in this list. He is the active player on this list and currently playing for the CSK (Chennai Super Kings). Robin has played well as an opener, and he has previously played for KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) and RR (Rajasthan Royals).

Robin Uthappa
Robin UthappaImage Credit: BCCI Official website

In the 2010 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), Uthappa played for the Purple Army Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), and he had smashed six of 122 metre against his current franchise (CSK) Chennai Super Kings. DJ Bravo was the bowler at the receiving end. Bravo is the trump card of the CSK side this season as well.

  • Yuvraj Singh (119 Metre)

Yuvraj Singh
Yuvraj SinghImage Credit: GettyImages

Yuvraj Singh is often remembered for India’s two triumphs in World T20 2007, and 2011 ICC World Cup played in India. He has been a hero for many and an inspiration for millions worldwide. Yuvi is also very much discussed in IPL. He was the most expensive player more than once, and he has also picked up a hat trick in this tournament.

Yuvraj Singh has also smashed the sixth-longest six in this cash-rich league tournament, and he has been placed third in this list of top five. Yuvraj Singh played for the Kings XI Punjab team, which is now known as Punjab Kings (PBKS). He even captained that side and smashed a six of 119 meters against Albie Morkel of the Chennai Super Kings.

  • Gautam Gambhir (113 Metre)

Gautam Gambhir
Gautam GambhirImage Credit: PTI

The man who made India win the two World Cups in 2007 and 2011 has been a terrific opener for the Indian Team. Gautam Gambhir was also an inspirational leader for the KKR side. Kolkata Knight Riders won the IPL twice under Gambhir in 2012 and 2014. Gautam Gambhir also played for Delhi Daredevils, and now he is the new franchise Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) mentor. Gautam smashed a six of 113 metre against RR (Rajasthan Royals) in IPL 2013 when he played for KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders). S. Sreesant was the bowler who got this blow from Gautam Gambhir.

  • Mahendra Singh Dhoni (115 Metre)

Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Mahendra Singh DhoniImage Credit: ET

The most spectacular skipper of all time, Mahendra Singh Dhoni is placed tenth in the overall list of the batsmen who have hit the longest six and fifth in this list. MS Dhoni has been a six-hitting master. He even finished the ICC World Cup in the 2011 final by hitting a six. MSD was also a gem of a leader for CSK (Chennai Super Kings).

By: Kaushal Vilas Kowjalgi

5 Indian Players with Longest Sixes in  IPL
Shivam Dube's 102-Metre Long Six Created Panic, Watch Viral Video on Social Media

Related Stories

No stories found.
Since independence